Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

My Favorite Things, an Illustrated Song

Posted on: July 16, 2011

Singing MY FAVORITE THINGS is one of my favorite things!  A grandmother and her granddaughter joined in a Sing Books gathering recently and the little girl requested MY FAVORITE THINGS We sang it even though we didn’t have the book there, but I wanted to share the two terrific Singable Picture Books for the song (and one “adapted” version)!

*
my favorite things (quarto knows).jpg
My Favorite Things
Words and Music by Rodgers and Hammerstein
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
Illustrated by Daniel Roode
Published by  QuartoKnows

*

My Favorite Things

Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
Illustrated by James Warhola

It is fun to note that James Warhola is the nephew of POP artist Andy Warhol!

*

My Favorite Things
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
Illustrations by Renee Graef

 

**********************
MY FAVORITE THINGS ADAPTATIONS

This next book contains a funny monster adaptation of “My Favorite Things,”

*

The MonsterOlogist (A Memoir in Rhyme)

Ghostwritten by Bobbi Katz
Illustrated by Adam McCauley
(I bought this book for its BeWitching adaptation of “My Favorite Things” (Original Words by Oscar Hammerstein II, Words Adapted by Bobbi Katz, Music by Richard Rodgers)

**********************
“My Favorite Things”  (with music by Richard Rodgers and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II) was written for the musical “The Sound of Music” which first appeared on Broadway in 1959.


Broadway Cast Album Cover

And was made into a movie in 1965…


Movie Cast Album Cover

**********************

*
A Wiki article about the musical’s history, here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Sound_of_Music

*
A Wiki article about the song, here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/My_Favorite_Things_(song)

*
Sing along with a midi recording and lyrics on the NIH kids sing-along page:
http://kids.niehs.nih.gov/lyrics/favorite.htm

**********************
My Favorite Things
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers

Raindrops on roses and whiskers on kittens;
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens;
Brown paper packages tied up with strings;
These are a few of my favorite things.

Cream-colored ponies and crisp apple strudels;
Doorbells and sleigh bells and schnitzel with noodles;
Wild geese that fly with the moon on their wings;
These are a few of my favorite things.

Girls in white dresses with blue satin sashes;
Snowflakes that stay on my nose and eyelashes;
Silver-white winters that melt into springs;
These are a few of my favorite things.

When the dog bites,
When the bee stings,
When I’m feeling sad,
I simply remember my favorite things,
And then I don’t feel so bad.

**********************
Some videos for “My Favorite Things

*
The classic version sung by Julie Andrews for the movie soundtrack

www.youtube.com/watch?v=33o32C0ogVM

*
Bobby McFerrin and his AMAZING vocal virtuosity

www.youtube.com/watch?v=5wqplKtzWpI

*
John Coltrane’s jazz version

www.youtube.com/watch?v=iQsvMf8X0FY

*
Sing Along with this instrumental karaoke video:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=iSUyD1I9OoU

**********************

A page for the Sing Books with Emily SINGABLE ADVENT CALENDAR

MY FAVORITE THINGS
Not written to be a holiday song, but this waltz has many lovely holiday images in it (and some good advice, too)…

*
SBWE Advent Calendar My Favorite Things
My Favorite Things
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
To view or print the SBWE Singable Advent Calendar sheet for “My Favorite Things,” click here:
SBWE Advent Calendar My Favorite Things

**********************

*
My Favorite Things GSSB
My Favorite Things for Girl Scout Songbook
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
Page Assembled by Sing Books with Emily
To view or print this page, click here:
My Favorite Things GSSB

**********************
Addendum, 1/11/2018

I stumbled upon an adorable illustrated rendition of MY FAVORITE THINGS, published in 2017 by QuartoKnows.com.  MY FAVORITE THINGS (and another title DO RE ME) is part of a series, promisingly called “Broadway Baby.”  I hope QuartoKnows publishes a lot more titles for that series!

The illustrations are graphical, retro looking, and boldly colorful.  I really appreciate that the characters are multi-cultural.  It’s exciting to find new illustrated songs, but often I find myself cringing that the characters are all white.  No worries with this one.  Every kid will find a character in the book to identify with.

*
my favorite things (quarto knows).jpg
My Favorite Things
Words and Music by Rodgers and Hammerstein
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
Illustrated by Daniel Roode
Published by  QuartoKnows

**********************
Related Articles

RODGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN
Singable Picture Books of Rodgers & Hammerstein Songs
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/a-few-favorite-singable-books-part-59-rodgers-hammerstein/

*
CHRISTMAS

A Collection of Singable Picture Books that celebrate CHRISTMAS!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/11/28/singable-picture-books-for-christmas/

*
GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK

Singable Picture Books of the Great American Songbook and Michael Feinstein’s Foundation for the Preservation of the Great American Songbook
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/american-songbook-singable-picture-books-and-michael-feinsteins-foundation-for-the-preservation-of-the-great-american-songbook/

*
EDUCATIONAL CONTENT

A list of SPBs with fun and sneakily educational content.  The kids won’t even know they’re learning!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/singable-picture-books-with-sneaky-educational-content/

*
WINTER

Singable Picture Books for Winter
Some of these are sung at Christmastime, but this is a list of songs about Winter that you can sing all season long!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/12/21/singable-picture-books-for-winter/

*
SING BOOKS WITH EMILY SINGABLE ADVENT CALENDAR
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/11/29/the-sing-books-with-emily-singable-advent-calendar/

*
A 2017 Illustration for MY FAVORITE THINGS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2018/01/11/2017-illustration-for-my-favorite-things/

Leave a comment