Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Skidamarink, a Singable Picture Book

Posted on: July 15, 2011

My introduction to “Skidamarink” was a gift from a friend who came to a “Sing Books with Emily” gathering…

*

Skidamarink
Traditional Words and Tune Unattributed
Original Words by Felix F. Feist
Original Music by Al Piantadosi
Illustrated by G. Brian Karas

*

Skidamarink: The “I Love You” Song (Sing and Read Storybook)
Traditional Words and Tune Unattributed

Original Words by Felix F. Feist
Original Music by Al Piantadosi
Illustrated by Jacqueline East

*

Skidamarink-a-dink-a-dink Skidamarink-a-doo
Traditional Words and Tune Unattributed
Original Words by Felix F. Feist
Original Music by Al Piantadosi
Words and Music Adapted by John Archambault and David Plummer
Illustrated by Sheree Boyd

*

Skidamarink
Traditional Words and Tune Unattributed
Original Words by Felix F. Feist
Original Music by Al Piantadosi
Illustrated with Photographs by Michael Scott

Skidamarink is also included in:
*

Lullabies (and Illustrated Songbook)
Words and Music by Various Artists
Illustrated with Artwork from the Collections of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
A Companion CD found here:
http://www.amazon.com/Lullabies–Songbook-Companion-Welsh-Traditional/dp/B00000083Z/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1310668853&sr=1-1

…She and her daughter asked me to sing it for them.  I was ashamed to admit that I didn’t know it.  The branch librarian knew the song, too (since she closes out every story times with this song!).   As a special treat, they sang it for me complete with arm movements.  So cute!  It’s a wonderful song and I can’t wait to include it in future “Sing Books” gatherings.

**********************

*
An informative Wiki article with “Skidamarink” song history:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skidamarink

*
A Muppet Wiki here:
http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/Skinnamarink

**********************

Turns out that it’s not so hard to find out who wrote “Skidamarink”:
Words by Felix F. Feist
Music by Al Piantadosi

They wrote the song for a short-lived 1910 musical called “The Echo.”

*

You can see a scan of the original sheet music, here:
https://jscholarship.library.jhu.edu/handle/1774.2/8735

Link to a midi of the orignal music played from begging to end (including the “Skiddy-Mer-Rink-A-Doo” chorus):
http://www.pdmusic.org/1900s/10sdmraa.mid

**********************

The original song tells delightful little love story.  The song we sing (just like with “Take Me Out to the Ballgame,” which was written at the beginning of the 20th century, just a couple years before “Skidamarink”) is just the chorus of an original two verse story song.  Here are the full original lyrics:

“Skiddy-Mer-Ring-A-Doo” Means “I Love You”
Lyrics by Felix F. Feist
Music by Al Piantadosi

Down on a Boola Boola Isle;
Where the Mermaids chant
Reigns Big Chief Crocodile,
Beneath an Oyster Plant.
He loved a Sea-nymph selfishly
Queen of the Gay White Wave;
Each night, in his shell he’d go to sea,
And in tuneful scales he’d rave:

Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-dink-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-ink-a-doo, means I love you you,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-dink-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo, means I’ll be true.
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo,
All the time he sang this rhyme
“Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo, means I love you.”

But when the Midnight Moon was pale;
King Fish Kokomo;
Came floating over with his tale,
To say, he loved her so.
But she was true to Crocodile,
Said “Koko-Nut go ‘way;
I know, in a very little while,
You will hear my lover say:

Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-dink-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-ink-a-doo, means I love you,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-dink-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo, means I’ll be true.
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo,
All the time he sings this rhyme
“Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo-a-boomp,
Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo, means I love you.”

**********************

It has been great fun to investigate the origins of “Skidamarink,” allowing me to witness a song from a broadway musical transforming into a bona fide folk song.  “Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo-a-boomp, Skid-dy-mer-rink-a-doo” has morphed into “Skidamarink a dink a dink, Skidamarink a dink a doo,” but both are from a nonsense mer-language meaning I LOVE YOU!

Next is the song as we sing it most of the time today!  It’s got a version of the original chorus, but a somewhere along the line a musical bridge was added (the “I love you in the morning…” part) to make it a sweet and complete song:

Skidamarink
Traditional Words and Tune
Original Lyrics by Felix F. Feist
Original Music by Al Piantadosi

Skidamarink a dink a dink
Skidamarink a dink a doo
I love you I love you

Skidamarink a dink a dink
Skidamarink a dink a doo
I love you I love you

I love you in the morning
And in the afternoon
I love you in the evening
And underneath the moon

Skidamarink a dink a dink
Skidamarink a dink a doo
I love you

**********************

Skidamarink
Lyrics with Arm Movements
Traditional Words and Tune
Original Lyrics by Felix F. Feist
 Original Music by Al Piantadosi

Skidamarink a dink a dink
(Left fingers touch right elbow, and wave right hand up and down to the beat)
Skidamarink a dink a doo
(Right fingers touch left elbow, and wave left hand up and down to the beat)
I love you I love you
(Point to your eyes, cross your arms over your heart, point to someone you love)

Skidamarink a dink a dink
(Left fingers touch right elbow, and wave right hand up and down to the beat)

Skidamarink a dink a doo
(Right fingers touch left elbow, and wave left hand up and down to the beat)
I love you I love you
(Point to your eyes, cross your arms over your heart, point to someone you love)

I love you in the morning
(Make a circle with your arms over your head, like the sun rising)

And in the afternoon
(Make a circle with your arms in front of you, like holding a big basket)

I love you in the evening
(Make a circle with your arms around your belly, like the setting sun)

And underneath the moon
(Circle your arms up over your head again, like the moon in the sky)
Skidamarink a dink a dink
(Left fingers touch right elbow, and wave right hand up and down to the beat)

Skidamarink a dink a doo
(Right fingers touch left elbow, and wave left hand up and down to the beat)
I love you
(Point to your eyes, cross your arms over your heart, point to someone you love)

**********************

Although, this is really a perfect tune for singing a capella, you can learn the tune here:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=7vPzg7VLUsY

This is a nice version of the tune:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000QWRZGO/ref=dm_dp_trk29?ie=UTF8&qid=1310665143&sr=1-6

Another video:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EEEsX69iIxY

**********************
Related Posts

*
VALENTINE’S DAY
Celebrate Valentine’s Day with this collection of Singable Picture Books which express one person’s love for another.

https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/02/14/singable-picture-books-celebrating-love-for-valentines-day/

*
GIRL SCOUT SONGBOOK
http://brownietroop2740.wordpress.com/girl-scouts-songs-troop-2740/

*
FAVORITE SINGABLES ON PINTEREST
Of the hundreds (maybe thousands) of choices, this list onPinterest displays the top blockbuster favorite Singable Picture Books that we warble together at Sing Books visits:
http://pinterest.com/singbooksemily/

*
MOVEMENTS, FINGER PLAYS AND DANCES (ACTION SONGS)
Get Movin’!  MOVEMENTS, FINGER PLAYS AND DANCES in Singable Picture Books
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2013/04/02/get-movin-movements-finger-plays-and-dances-in-singable-picture-books/

6 Responses to "Skidamarink, a Singable Picture Book"

Hi Emily! It was us Heidi and my daughter Lillian who made the request :) Thank you for all this wonderful research…it is all very dear to me. We so look forward to seeing you again!

Hello Heidi and Lillian!
I’m so glad you checked in with the blog since I was hoping to find a way to share this info with you. It was so much fun to investigate this song and discover the really fun original! My daughter and I are working on creating a Singable Picture book for the original song and I’m working to get sing-along music for it, too. It’ll be so much fun so sing. When the book is finished, I’ll be sure to let you know.
Thanks again for your support! BEST WISHES! Emily

Hi Emily,
Thank you for the origins of one of our favorite songs. It always brings back memories of my children when they were little since we sang that song together often.
Lynn Casey

Dear Lynn, Thanks so much for your message. Thanks also to you and Heidi Bone for teaching me the song which will be so fun to sing in future gatherings. What a JOY JOY JOY it was to sing at your library. I hope to see you again soon. Best wishes and many thanks! Emily

Hello Emily,

I have just discovered your FANTASTIC website on singable books. I am doing a research project for teacher librarian course I’m doing, and have chosen song storybooks as my topic. Well, you’ve got it covered and more!

I am a musician as well as librarian, so always like to include music in any way that I can. Of course, songs that are illustrated story books provide a way to integrate music and literacy, and there are so many great singable books out there.

I love Skidamrink, and your blog posting with all the links about the song is AMAZING!

Beth Jay
Vancouver Island, B.C.

Dear Beth, Thank you so much for this delightful note. I so appreciate the kind words and to know you are out there loving music and picture books. I have the privilege of singing to many classrooms of children a week (in grades K-5th grade). Besides my family, of course, it is the joy of my life to share the music (and everything that goes with them, including the books and song history) in live/intimate performances. Best wishes to you and please stay in touch! Emily

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Archives

