Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Sing Books with Emily Featured on Rise_Up_Rosie

Posted on: May 12, 2023

“#RiseUpRosie is a platform to share empowering stories. We celebrate those who use or overcome circumstances to empower themselves or others.” You will find them on @Rise_Up_Rosie on Instagram.

I was super honored that Rise_Up_Rosie asked me to write a 300 article on overcoming obstacles to empower myself or others.

“I am a performing artist.” There, I said it. I reject any notion that fame, riches, or anyone else’s validation are requirements to claim my space. I am unique. The things which differentiate me from everyone else are a result of my choices in cultivating my talents and the innovations I concoct to contend with my shortcomings.
.

I’ve lived my life nurturing and gathering the skills required to be a professional preforming artist. But I possess a shortcoming that once threatened to make all that work and all those dreams a waste of time. I would describe this as “performance dread.”
.
This dread caused me such agony (both physical and emotional) that doing any show in a conventional context was just not worth the torture. But then I remembered how my friend Kevin said, “you have to figure out how your art fits into your life” and how my husband suggests, “life is choices.” I started finding ways to do things based on my terms and what gave me joy. These efforts resulted in what I do now. I can’t wait to get up every morning to do more of it.
.
My friend @susanhamos recently posted that, “struggle is a necessary component of success.” Reading that made everything clear. Any perceived deficit is not merely a thing with which to begrudgingly contend, but something to use as tool. My struggles have been painful, but they forced me to innovate. Those innovations became my artistic endeavor, Sing Books with Emily. I understand that my choices, and the manner in which I deal with my issues, are what define me as an artist and make my work unique.
.
.
#riseuprosie #rosiestory #iamrosie #youarerosie #weareallrosie #togetherwerise @singbookswithemily #SingBooksWithEmily #SingBooksology #ChildrensMusic #SingAlongPictureBook #IllustratedSong #letssingsomefun #SingAlongHootenanny #SingAlongBooks #MusicInTheClassroom #LibrarySongs #singingstorytime #IllustratedSingablePoetry #SingableChildrensLiterature #SingablePictureBook 📸 @mccluskey8565

**********************
Related Posts

*
Sing Books with Emily Featured on Rise_Up_Rosie
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2023/05/12/sing-books-with-emily-featured-on-rise_up_rosie/

*
Emily’s Thoughtful Meanderings, Essays and Musings on the Subject of Singable Picture Books and the Importance of Music and Song in the Lives of Just About Everyone / Info & Thinking about Illustrated Song
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information

*
POWER OF MUSIC AND SONG (AND BENEFITS OF MUSIC AND SONG) AS AN EDUCATIONAL TOOL (Articles)
Visit this link to find a list of Articles about the power of music as a tool for education:
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2019/06/27/articles-and-online-references-on-the-power-of-music-as-an-educational-and-social-tool/

*
POWER OF MUSIC (AND BENEFITS OF MUSIC) AS AN EDUCATIONAL TOOL (Organizations)
Educational Organizations That Specialize in Using Music as a Teaching Tool
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2019/11/29/educational-organizations-that-specialize-in-using-music-as-a-teaching-tool/

Leave a comment