Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Senor Don Gato, an Illustrated Song

Posted on: May 5, 2023

*
senor don gato cover - Copy
Senor Don Gato
Traditional Words and Music
Illustrated by John Mananders

**********************
I love the way JenUwin arranged this for ukulele!

**********************

**********************
HOW TO UNDERSTAND THE WORDS IN THE TITLE SENOR DON GATO

I do not speak Spanish, so I had to look up what the words of the title mean!

  • Senor, I had a pretty good handle on. That’s Spanish for what we would say for Mr.
  • Don, I learned, is an honorific (or a word one uses to show respect) that is used before a first name or a first/last name combo: https://www.spanishacademyantiguena.com/blog/2018/11/05/don-honorific-title-explained-and-how-to-use-it/
    I’ve come to understand it like the sweet custom of putting “Miss” in front of a woman’s name to show respect for her.  For example, some children call me “Miss Emily,” which I think is so charming.  And there are a few women in my life who I refer to with Miss. Like Miss Sheila (who I adore).
  • Gato is Spanish for Cat!

**********************

**********************

**********************
Related Posts

*
Senor Don Gato, an Illustrated Song
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2023/05/05/senor-don-gato-an-illustrated-song-2/

Leave a comment