Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Cottleston Pie and a Universe of Fascination

Posted on: April 8, 2017

I just got a fascinating comment to my Sing Books blog, regarding my post for A. A. Milne’s COTTLESTON PIE (which was set to music by Harold Fraser Simson). In the poem, the word “cottleston” is frequently repeated. Somewhere deep in the post, I’d left out a “t” in one of the cottlestons. This person wrote me a comment to point out the omission. I thanked and begged pardon, blaming my own bit of dyslexia. I would never in a million years have noticed that…and the misspellings in my blog are probably of epic proportion.

The majority of people in this world might lack basic attention to detail, but, this little thing is proof that, there are at least some who are keeping that fire burning.

As just one more example, regarding my own guitar chord arrangement for the song EDELWEISS. A man from Singapore wrote that I’d failed to properly harmonize my chords with some of the beautiful melody that Richard Rodgers wrote for the song. I had to write and tell the nice person that I am a slave to being a guitar novice and that I had to populate my song sheet with chords that I could PLAY and that would simultaneously fit the melody, even if the harmonies were not as beautiful as was intended. I had to choose between using those chords and not singing/playing the song at all…and I chose to sing/play. But that I appreciated his writing to start the conversation. And how wonderful that he cared enough about how this beautiful little gem of a song was being handled.

It’s a compelling world out there, full of issues big and small (but even in the smallest issues, is a universe of fascination).

*
COTTLESTON PIE little song sheet sbwe
COTTLESTON PIE
Poem by A. A. Milne
Music by Harold Fraser-Simson
To view or print this sheet, click here:
COTTLESTON PIE little song sheet sbwe

*
edelweiss w guitar chords (eleg loved one) updated
Edelweiss (lyric sheet with guitar chords) Updated
Words by Oscar Hammerstein II
Music by Richard Rodgers
From SOUND OF MUSIC
edelweiss w guitar chords (eleg loved one) updated

***********************
Related Posts

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

*
RODGERS AND HAMMERSTEIN

Singable Picture Books of Rodgers & Hammerstein Songs
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/04/10/a-few-favorite-singable-books-part-59-rodgers-hammerstein/

*
A. A. MILNE

Almost all Pooh and Poetry by A. A. Milne and Illustrated by E. H. Shepard is Singable!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/05/04/a-few-favorite-singable-books-the-world-of-a-a-milne/

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

April 2017
M T W T F S S
« Mar    
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Archives

