Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

A few impressions lately (while doing various things around the house)

Posted on: January 29, 2017

120.
Where is the wagon hitch?
Where is the star?
Where did the higher angels go?
I want to sing in their choir
A hosanna from their hymnal
The long cold lonely winter has just begun
I want to believe in the coming of the sun

(1/25/2017)

121.

Mr. Lincoln
Good man
I look on you
The majesty of your face
Its hard worn beauty
Deeply etched
By ungodly sadness
Flush with an ancient wisdom
Your eyes scintillating
With a story to tell
Your Mary
Begged you not to go
She tried to find you after you were gone
I’m trying to find you
Please come
I’m begging you
Bring us a host
To exault our humanity
Good man
Mister Lincoln
I look to you
And pray you will come

(1/25/2017)

122.
I really hate housework
But it has to be done
It makes me shout words
Like, “Son of a Gun!”

The laundry piles up
The dishes do, too
Who else but me
Will cook up the stew?

I really hate housework
But it has to be done
I wish I could outside
Take a walk in the sun

The kitchen floor is sticky
The toilet needs a barber
And I need to go shopping
To replenish the larder

I really hate housework
But it has to be done
And when it’s all finished
I’m too tired to have fun

I can’t face the shower
Or the stain on the rug
Or the sheets on the bed
Or the mold in the mug

I really hate housework
But it has to be done
I really don’t want to
So I sing this sad song

(1/29/2017)

**********************
Related Posts

*
IMPRESSIONS WHILE WALKING
Taking walks, noticing the world around me, and writing down what I see
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/impressions-while-walking/

*
SONG BY EMILY: A JUBILEE OF JINGLES
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/songs-by-emily/

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

*
Singable Picture Book Lists for Special Occasions & Interests
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/song-book-lists-for-all-occasions/

*
PICTURES IN PAVEMENT AS SEEN BY EMILY
Emily’s collection of photographs of images formed by pavement cracks
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10205709327003243.1073741841.1557301052&type=1&l=a

 

 

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

January 2017
M T W T F S S
« Dec   Feb »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Archives

