Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Impressions while ruminating, 12/30 and 12/31, 2016

Posted on: December 31, 2016

96.
I like a door knob
That is free of grit or crust
When my hand grasps it

95.
I don’t like to hear
Words – when my head is working
Or thinking with words

94.
An unlidded cup
Even though my kids are grown
Still makes me nervous

93.
The best aprons are
My husband’s old shirts for work
With the arms cut off

92.
Hearing the beat of my own heart
Unsettles me
I have many quirks
This is only one of them
That it makes me thankful for my tinnitus
Is another
I got the tinnitus in college
From standing too near a speaker one night
Since then, a spray of sound is a constant companion
I tried to outrun it at first
But you can’t run from your head
So I accepted it
Not long after my mom left
I thought about her heart
That it beat one moment
And in another moment it no longer did
Accepting that has been more difficult
The tinnitus drowns out the sound of mine
Which makes it easier not to dwell
On the beating
Or not

91.
Stardust
Dust to dust
We are made of this stuff
That is why we are the stuff that dreams are made on
We are the dreamers
And we are the dreams
Of the stars

**********************

Related Posts

*
IMPRESSIONS WHILE WALKING
Taking walks, noticing the world around me, and writing down what I see
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/impressions-while-walking/

*
SONG BY EMILY: A JUBILEE OF JINGLES
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/songs-by-emily/

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

*
Singable Picture Book Lists for Special Occasions & Interests
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/song-book-lists-for-all-occasions/

*
PICTURES IN PAVEMENT AS SEEN BY EMILY
Emily’s collection of photographs of images formed by pavement cracks
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10205709327003243.1073741841.1557301052&type=1&l=a

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

