Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Impressions while driving then doing dishes

Posted on: December 28, 2016

 

87.
How’d I get so fat?
Do I really eat that much?
Now, I am hungry.

(12/27/2016)

86.
I said prayers
So often
Out of desperation
They became mantras
Hoping thought would
Bend God’s will to intervene

Standing at the sink
My mind wandered
Bemoaning those mantras
Futile
Maybe God was irritated by
My squawking

Maybe I’m the narcissist
Thinking my thoughts have value

But what is gained by not trying?
Not trying is active failure

Maybe this outcome is God’s answer
Maybe, in Her infinite wisdom
She created this as a necessary step

Like a set of plastic bricks
But with no picture on the box
We complete requirements
This one, unpleasant
But essential to all its posterity

I don’t know

Destiny doesn’t dole out answers
Neither does it allow retrofitting
Take what you have and build on it
If it is to be, it’s up to me
Answer your own damn prayers
Just do it
Make it so
If you don’t
Someone else will

(12/27/2016)

85.
Hey! Back off my car

Ding, dong, tailgating nim rod
Lives are on the line

(12/27/2016)

**********************

Related Posts

*
IMPRESSIONS WHILE WALKING
Taking walks, noticing the world around me, and writing down what I see
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/impressions-while-walking/

*
SONG BY EMILY: A JUBILEE OF JINGLES
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/songs-by-emily/

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

*
Singable Picture Book Lists for Special Occasions & Interests
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/song-book-lists-for-all-occasions/

*
PICTURES IN PAVEMENT AS SEEN BY EMILY
Emily’s collection of photographs of images formed by pavement cracks
https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10205709327003243.1073741841.1557301052&type=1&l=a

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

