Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Impressions, 12/10/2016

Posted on: December 10, 2016

58.
I was sitting once
Enchanted and alone
Waiting on an unfamiliar
Screen porch
Looking out on grassy dunes
Sand and ocean
Everything sun bleached and wind blown
When suddenly, noiselessly
A little red fox
Succinct, compact
Emerged from the dune’s thicket
Looking for something
It might have been wearing glasses
With a pencil behind its ear
Like a librarian tracking a mislaid book
I saw it here somewhere
Oh, yes, there it is
Except, being a fox, found a dead mouse instead
Then it vanished as quickly and quietly as it came
Back into the bramble
Like that librarian
Into a forest of shelving and tome

(12/9/2016)

57.
I see spirits
Magical things
Essences Floating
Emanating, glowing

Everything has one

Intentionally or not
That which is made
By nature or by beast
Gets infused
Simply or faceted
With a spirit
By its maker

(12/9/2016)

56.

Making choices on purpose is what makes art.
I heard myself say that to a group of about 45 kids today.
I think it is true, however.
Even if I did say it by accident.

(12/9/2016)

55.
Sometimes I’m the fox
Who goes out on a chilly night
I pray to the moon
Just like he does
I need to go out alone just like he does
To be useful
To find out what I’m meant for
To do my job
To hunt
And to go back home with spoils
To assess
To be assessed
To love and be loved
And recharge
So I can go out again
Tomorrow

(12/9/2016)

**********************
Related Posts

*
IMPRESSIONS WHILE WALKING
Taking walks, noticing the world around me, and writing down what I see
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/impressions-while-walking/

*
SONG BY EMILY: A JUBILEE OF JINGLES
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/songs-by-emily/

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

*
Singable Picture Book Lists for Special Occasions & Interests
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/song-book-lists-for-all-occasions/

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

December 2016
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

