Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

10/6/2016 I forgot my coffee (an impression while walking)

Posted on: October 6, 2016

20.
10/6/2016
I forgot my coffee
Dang!
Sitting there now, on the counter, feeling bad it was left behind
Singing a sad song
Knowing coffee is in my bag elevates the pleasure of my walk, sloshing with every pace inside its steel jar, ready to make me happy whenever a bench appears and invites me to sit
My mom’s kitchen always smelled of coffee
She would drink it even before bed then fall right to sleep while watching I Love Lucy
Maybe she never really slept
She did not like silence or darkness and always wanted the lights and the sound of the TV on
If you thought she was asleep and turned the TV off, she would awake and say, “I was watching that.”
When she died, her funeral reception was in the same room where people would gather after Sunday service and it was always scented with the smell of coffee
The scent lingered still, in the air, when we said goodbye

**********************
Related Posts

*
IMPRESSIONS WHILE WALKING
Taking walks, noticing the world around me, and writing down what I see
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/03/impressions-while-walking/

2 Responses to "10/6/2016 I forgot my coffee (an impression while walking)"

I love this post Em, it’s so funny that I do the same thing. It’s so great the smell of a good cup of coffee and The comfort of I love Lucy in the background! So glad you shared that!
Love you

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives

