Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Penny’s Song, a Serendipitous Discovery

Posted on: October 26, 2015

I’d set out this morning to write a song as a companion to OLD BLUE, so I could have both male and female songs for my limberjack dog (or, limberdog?).

Instead, I wrote a song about my grandmother, Penny.  My sister and I always called her Penny, but her name was Grace Evengelyn Morgan Everson.  She was my dad’s mom.  She taught second grade John Strange Elementary School in Indianapolis for over thirty years.  She was the most wonderful, loving grandmother.

I was searching at first for a name to call the dog.  I thought about some of my favorite names like Maud and Hazel, but Penny kept popping in.  And then the words appeared in my mind and then the tune and then the chords.  They all just came.  Penny was an animal lover.  I don’t think she’d mind if I started out writing a song for a dog and ended up writing one for her instead.  Dogs are loyal and true.  So was Penny.

Every word in this song is true.  Penny was wise and true.  She took care of my sister and I when our parents were at work.  She taught me to see the best in people (or at least try), to count my blessings and to pray.  Penny and I went on walks together.  She taught me to identify trees and wildflowers.  She read my sister and I many of the most wonderful books ever written for children, including FERDINAND THE BULL who loved to just sit and smell the flowers.  It’s true, I sure do miss good ol’ Penny.  She was a wonderful friend.  I always will save the love that she gave deep in my heart full of plenty.

Eventually, I did end up creating a female limberdog song,
Mrs. G’s Musical BINGO Zoo for SBWE and Limberdog

**********************

This is Penny’s song:

PENNY’S SONG
Words and Music by ELEG

I had a dog named Penny
She was so wise and true
She took care of me
And taught me to see
Life as a grand horn of plenty

We walked together for hours
Penny was patient and kind
We looked at the trees
Heard the hum of the bees
And sat just smelling the flowers

I sure do miss good old Penny
She was a wonderful friend
The love that she gave
I always will save
Deep in my heart full of plenty

*
Sing the song with Emily, here:

**********************

*
penny's song eleg sbwe lyrics w chords 2
Penny’s Song (lyrics w chords)
Words and Music by Emily Leatha Everson Gleichenhaus
To view or print this sheet, click here:
penny’s song eleg sbwe lyrics w chords 

Sing the song with Emily, here:

**********************

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The Lord’s Prayer
Musical Setting by Albert Hay Malotte
The needlepoint shown was created by my paternal grandmother
GRACE EVANGELYN MORGAN EVERSON
I called her Penny.  She was a wonderful, loving person.

**********************
Related Posts

*
MEMORY LANE AND THE ROAD TO SING BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/07/14/memory-lane-and-the-road-to-sing-books/

*
IN MEMORIAM
This is a page of links to posts I’ve assembled in the memory of people who have meant the world to me.
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2014/10/06/in-memorium/

*
SONGS BY EMILY
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/songs-by-emily/

*
Mrs. G’s Musical BINGO Zoo for SBWE and Limberjack
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2015/11/12/mrs-gs-musical-bingo-zoo-for-sbwe-and-limberjack/

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

October 2015
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

