Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

The Leaves on the Trees, a Delightful Illustrated Song, Set to a Familiar Tune, Educational, Adorable and Fun

Posted on: July 20, 2015

Delightful, this, and educational, too.

*
leaves on the trees, wiley day
The Leaves on the Trees
Sing to the Tune of LONDON BRIDGE IS FALLING DOWN or WHEELS IN THE BUS
Words by Thom Wiley
Illustrated by Andrew Day

**********************

This is another one of those little books which has rather captured my heart.  It’s about TREES!  I love trees. When I was little, my paternal grandmother (a beautiful woman in every way, who my sister and I called Penny) took time to teach me to identify a whole bunch of trees and flowers.  I’m still not an expert, but being able to identify trees makes me feel close to them, invested in their well being and respectful of their long lives and service to our environment.  Here’s a book, sung to a familiar tune that will help and inspire kids to learn to identify 9 tree varieties: Sweet Gum, Tulip Poplar, Ginko, Maple, Linden, Ash, Hickory, and Sassafras.

When I first found this adorable little book, it was easy to tell it was written to sing with a familiar tune.  The first tune which sprang to mind was LONDON BRIDGE IS FALLING DOWN.  A bit of research on the book reveals that the words were written to be sung with WHEELS ON THE BUS.

The first lyrics are:  The leaves on the trees are falling down, falling down, falling down.  I imagine this is what got me thinking about LONDON BRIDGE, and because I like LONDON BRIDGE better, and because the song works perfectly well with that tune, I’m going to stick with it.

**********************

*
Scholastic Publisher’s page for this book:
http://store.scholastic.com/Books/Paperback-Books/Leaves-on-the-Trees-The

*
A big more info, here:
http://www.mcpl.us/catalogs/vcat/?b=b1444107x

**********************
Addendum, 8/4/2015

I love trees. And, I am excited about the book THE LEAVES ON THE TREES and created a supplement so show photographed examples of the tree leaves (Sweet Gum, Tulip Poplar, Ginko, Maple, Linden, Ash, Hickory, and Sassafras) mentioned  in the book.  My grandmother (my dad’s mom, who I called Penny) taught me to identify a number of trees and flowers.  Knowing the names of plants makes me fell closer and more connected to them, closer and more connected to my grandmother, too.  She gifted me these little gems of knowledge and I’d like to pass it along.  Come Sing Books with me and we’ll enjoy the song together.

*
Leaves on the Trees SBWE cover only
The Leaves on the Trees Supplement for SBWE
Pictures of leaves gathered online
Book Coordinated by ELEG for SBWE

**********************

*
USEFUL TUNES IN THE PUBLIC DOMAIN
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/07/15/useful-tunes-in-the-public-domain/

*
The Leaves on the Trees, a Delightful Illustrated Song, Set to a Familiar Tune, Educational, Adorable and Fun
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2015/07/20/the-leaves-on-the-trees-a-delightful-illustrated-song-set-to-a-familiar-tune-education-and-adorable-and-fun/

*
LONDON BRIDGE, AN ILLUSTRATED SONG

1 Response to "The Leaves on the Trees, a Delightful Illustrated Song, Set to a Familiar Tune, Educational, Adorable and Fun"

Is your supplement to “The Leaves on the Trees” still available? Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

July 2015
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Archives

