Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

What a Wonderful World, an Illustrated Song

Posted on: May 19, 2014

*
what a wonderful world tim hopgood
What a Wonderful World
Words and Lyrics by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss
Illustrated By Tim Hopgood

*

What a Wonderful World

Words and Music by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele
Illustrated by Ashley Bryan

*

What a Wonderful World (Sing-A-Song Storybook)
Words and Music by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele
Illustrated by Renee Graef

**********************

WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD
Words and Music by George David Weiss and Bob Thiele

I see trees of green,
red roses too.
I see them bloom,
for me and you.
And I think to myself,
what a wonderful world.

I see skies of blue,
And clouds of white.
The bright blessed day,
The dark sacred night.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

The colors of the rainbow,
So pretty in the sky.
Are also on the faces,
Of people going by,
I see friends shaking hands.
Saying, “How do you do?”
They’re really saying,
“I love you”.

I hear babies cry,
I watch them grow,
They’ll learn much more,
Than I’ll ever know.
And I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

Yes, I think to myself,
What a wonderful world.

**********************

*
Video with lyrics and recording by the great Louis Armstrong

*
Louis Armstrong sings live

*
Yes, it’s a little cheezy, but you can sing-along with this one:

*
Watch a short/sweet video of Ashley Bryan talking about where he’d most like to be in the world:
http://books.simonandschuster.ca/What-a-Wonderful-World/Bob-Thiele/9780689800870
Find the video window and just press Play

**********************

*
WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD wiki
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/What_a_Wonderful_World

**********************
Addendum, 12/30/2014

I spend a lot of time trolling online booksellers and publisher’s websites to find Illustrated Songs.  It was great fun to be asked to create a list of my favorite Illustrated Songs of 2014, which I put together with great delight.  The wonderful thing about being asked to do that project, and the extra research and digging that ensued, was that I found a bunch of books I’d not seen before.

But this one, a gorgeous gem for an important and beautiful song, evaded my searchings both before and after that list:

what a wonderful world tim hopgood
What a Wonderful World
Words and Lyrics by Bob Thiele and George David Weiss
Illustrated By Tim Hopgood

How I could have missed it, having just written about and had music made for a previous (also wonderful) illustration by Ashley Bryan.  It really is a mystery to me how search criteria (key words, subjects, etc) works.  That one can do SO MUCH work and still miss something so wonderful and essential.

But I did find it, on accident at the Market Square Barnes and Noble between Colonial Williamsburg and the William & Mary college campus.  There it was sitting on the shelf. Very fortunately, the Timber Land Elementary School had given me a B&N gift care which I used to buy his beautiful hardcover illustration of WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD

**********************
Related Posts

*
SING-A-SONG STORYBOOKS

A terrific series of Singable Picture Books Published by Hal Leonard
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/06/05/a-few-favorite-singable-books-part-71-sing-a-song-storybooks/

*
GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK

Singable Picture Books of the Great American Songbook and Michael Feinstein’s Foundation for the Preservation of the Great American Songbook
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/american-songbook-singable-picture-books-and-michael-feinsteins-foundation-for-the-preservation-of-the-great-american-songbook/

*
GOOD ADVICE
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2014/02/13/illustrated-songs-that-give-good-advice/

*
ASHLEY BRYAN
The Singable Picture Books of Ashley Bryan
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/06/06/the-singable-picture-books-of-ashley-bryan/

*
WHAT A WONDERFUL WORLD, ILLUSTRATED BY TIM HOPGOOD
An addendum to the post What a Wonderful World, an Illustrated song:
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2014/12/29/what-a-wonderful-world-illustrated-by-tim-hopgood/

*
THE ILLUSTRATED SONGS OF TIM HOPGOOD
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/09/13/the-illustrated-songs-of-tim-hopgood/

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

May 2014
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Archives

