Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Thanks a Lot, by Raffi, a Singable Picture Book by ELEG for SBWE

Posted on: September 8, 2013

At the end of the 2012-2013 school year, I was there to see the Kindergarten Sing-Along.  They sang “Thanks a lot” by Raffi and it was so sweet and charming that I made a book to sing it with kids in classrooms:

*
thanks a lot (raffi) cover only
Thanks a Lot
Words and Music by Raffi Cavoukian
Book Assembled for Sing Books with Emily

This book is for use in home, classroom or library only.

*
thanks-a-lot-raffi-w-chords
Thanks a Lot (song sheet w chords)
Words and Music by Raffi Cavoukian
Arrangement by ELEG for SBWE
thanks-a-lot-raffi-w-chords

**********************

Importantly, this is a song of gratitude.  It is important to celebrate gratitude as an emotional response to our blessings.  And I have found no better celebration than a song!

This song would make a wonderful blessing at dinnertime, a song for a spiritual service, or just driving in the car to remember all the things we have to be thankful for.  And, “Thanks a Lot” is a lovely song of thanksgiving for Thanksgiving.

**********************

THANKS A LOT
Words and Music by Raffi Cavoukian

Thanks a lot
Thanks for Sun in the sky

Thanks a lot
Thanks for clouds so high

Thanks a lot
Thanks for whispering wind

Thanks a lot
Thanks for the birds in the spring

Thanks a lot
Thanks for the moonlit night

Thanks a lot
Thanks for the stars so bright

Thanks a lot
Thanks for the wondering me

Thanks a lot
Thanks for the way I feel

Thanks for the animals
Thanks for the land
Thanks for the people everywhere

Thanks a lot
Thanks for all I’ve got
Thanks for all I’ve got

**********************

*
THANKS A LOT, sung by Raffi

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7McbECHlgbg

**********************

*
A lovely blog post and flannelboard illustration (including a printable pattern so you can make it yourself) for the song, here:
http://melissa.depperfamily.net/blog/?p=4070

**********************

Raffi recorded THANKS A LOT for his BABY BELUGA album:

baby beluga album cover

**********************
Addendum, 12/10/2013

THANKS A LOT, a song by Raffi, is one of those deceptively simple song that can be infused and arranged to create something beautiful and simple for a solo singer or something profound and glorious for a congregation.

My friend Justin is the musical director for a church in Washington, DC.  The church has a choir, musicians, soloists and interpretive dancers.  Justin posted pictures of their holiday concert on his Facebook Page and I enjoyed looking through them.

The next morning I woke in the middle of a dream which fused the pictures with THANKS A LOT.  I wrote to Justin, but I sure hope some church sometime can do this.  Or maybe I could arrange it with the school.  It would be nice at Thanksgiving, but could work for Christmas, Hanukkah, Kwanza, or a Winter Holiday celebration.

My dream for THANKS A LOT (as I told it to Justin, paraphrased).

I woke up in the middle of a dream this morning and it was so real that I thought I’d share…

I looked at the pictures from your church concert the other night. It looked like a wonderful event…and my dream put images from those pictures to make a movie with a lovely song of Thanks by Raffi. It’s a sweet beautiful little song and I don’t think it has to be exclusively for children. I made a book for it to sing with kids at the school who had already learned it from one of their teachers and the children also learned a beautiful sign language part to sing with it. I sing it with the kids with a call and response for “Thanks a Lot” and in my mind, your choir sang “Thanks a lot” in gorgeous uplifted harmony with a response from the congregation. Then a solo voice sang the other parts and someone was there with sign language interpretation, too…and all the while the dancers were also interpreting the words. In my dream is was a beautiful movie, filled with joy and thanks, musical harmony, singing, the band, the choir, the congregation, a solo voice. 

**********************

**********************
Related Posts

*
RAFFI
The Singable Picture Books of Raffi
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/08/20/the-singable-picture-books-of-raffi/

*
THANKSGIVING

A Song List to Help Us Celebrate Thanksgiving!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/11/06/thank-heavens-singable-picture-books-for-thanksgiving/

*
SUNDAY SCHOOL SONGS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/09/18/sunday-school-songs-in-singable-picture-books/

*
SING-ALONG RESOURCES AND PRINTABLE MATERIALS
This is the place to find Print Materials Created by Emily, Service Providers, Vendors, Audio and Video to help you SING-ALONG!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/sing-along-resources-2/

2 Responses to "Thanks a Lot, by Raffi, a Singable Picture Book by ELEG for SBWE"

I am an Early Childhood teacher and I have also created a coloring book to along with Raffi’s “Thanks a Lot” using Boardmaker. Is there a link to your book on this post?

Hello! I just sent an email with attachment to the address associate with the comment. Please let me know if it went through. I hope you enjoy! Best wishes, Emily

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Archives

