Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

The Amoeba Hop, a Singable Picture Book

Posted on: August 7, 2011

OOOOOOOOO I love this book!  It is always a hit…a top favorite blockbuster.

Kids learn about the microscopic world of protozoans and they just think they’re singing a funny song!

*

Amoeba Hop
Words and Music by Christine Lavin
Illustrated by Betsy Franco Feeney
This book features a study of amoeba life, printed music and a live recording of “Amoeba Hop” by the amazingly hilarious and talented singer/songwriter Christine Lavin

**********************

AMOEBA HOP
Words and Music by Christine Lavin
Illustrations by Betsy Franco Feeney

Just a little puddle of muddy water
Left there after the rain;
I got down on my knees, I looked close,
I saw things I couldn’t explain.

There were all these itty bitty, teeny weeny, little tiny creatures
Swimmin’ and sloshin’ about.
I put my ear down to that puddle,
I could hear one of them shout…

“We’re goin’ to the Amoeba Hop,
Everybody’s going to be there.
Got my eye on a cute paramecium,
You know, the one with the wavy hair.
Rockin’ and rollin’, shakin’ our cells,
And flappin’ our flagella all over.
Well, the good times are never going to stop,
When you go to the Amoeba Hop!”
That’s what I heard.
I mean it, I mean it.

Then I spied a shy protozoan, swingin’ all by himself.
He was lookin’ for a partner to shake a leg with,
But everyone was dancin’ with everyone else!

So he was so lonely ’till Mother Nature
Showed him what to do.
He boogied down, he did a little binary fission,
Split his-cellf in two!

And now he’s got a PARTNER!

For the Amoeba Hop,
Everybody’s going to be there.
My, oh my, oh nucleoli,
Have you ever seen such a perfect pair?
Rockin’ and rollin’, shakin’ their cells,
Slappin’ their cilia all over.
Well, the good times are never going to stop
When you go to the Amoeba Hop!
Good times are never going to stop
When you go to the Amoeba Hop!

Some folks think that one-celled animals
Don’t know how to swing.
People who say that are wrong!
‘Cause I saw a band of algae
Get up there and sing:
“When the red, red robin
Comes bob-bob-bobbin’ along.”

But to them it’s a MONSTER song!

Ooh, the puddle was jumpin’ (so was I).
I guess I lost my head.
In my excitement, I splashed it dry.
OH MY GOSH, I thought they were dead!

But no!  They just came splashin’ down
Right here into my hand.
And sure enough, I could still hear
That swing’ algae band.

Sayin’…

“We’re going to the Amoeba Hop,
Everybody’s going to be there.
Got my eye on a cute paramecium,
Look at the hair, girls!  Look at the hair!
Rockin’ and rollin’, shakin’ our cells,
Slappin’ pseudopodia all over.
Well, the good times are never going to stop
When you go to the Amoeba Hop!”

Good times are never going to stop when you go to the Amoeba Hop,
Hop-hop, ba-da.
Good times are never going to stop when you go to the Amoeba Hop!

**********************
Here’s Ms. Lavin singing her own song:

www.youtube.com/watch?v=hd3OGa9rWF8

This video is a live performance of the song and Christine Lavin has a little trouble with the mic when she first steps on stage, so she doesn’t actually start talking about the song until 1:50 seconds into the video.  She tells the story of how she came to write the song first and then sings.  There’s nobody like her.  She is really so fabulous and original.

More about Christine Lavin, here:
www.ChristineLavin.com

Page on Ms. Lavin’s website devoted to this book:
http://www.christinelavin.com/index.php?page=articles&category=02–Music-slash-Science_Book_For_Children&display=1252

***********************

*
New York Times Book Review (2003):
http://www.nytimes.com/2003/12/14/nyregion/a-one-celled-world-explored-in-song-and-now-in-a-book.html

*
Preview the recording here:
http://www.amazon.com/Amoeba-Hop/dp/B004NCLZK0/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1312478746&sr=8-2

**********************
11/5/2012

Well, I’m not sure my son will ever forgive me for embarrassing him this way (hes’ a 5th grader at Tuckahoe)…but besides that detail, I really enjoyed sharing “The Amoeba Hop” with all four of Ms. Godwin’s 5th grade science class rotations today at Tuckahoe Elementary.  The kids in 5th grade are studying cells and have moved into studying bacteria, protozoans, algae and their friends, so it seemed like the perfect time to pull out this wonderful song by Christine Lavin.

I even learned that one of the teachers at Tuckahoe is a fellow fan of Christine Lavin and I must say it’s always a treat to meet someone who appreciates and knows about her fantastic songs!

Before singing the song, we made sure to go over the song’s vocabulary words, which I put into this handout (along with the lyrics and cover image), this handout has 2 pages :

*

Amoeba Hop (Lyric Sheet)
Words and Music by Christine Lavin
Illustrated by Betsy Franco Feeney
To view or print this page, click here:
AMOEBA HOP 5th grade handout 2pg

**********************
Related Posts

*
EDUCATIONAL CONTENT

A list of SPBs with fun and sneakily educational content.  The kids won’t even know they’re learning!
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/08/15/singable-picture-books-with-sneaky-educational-content/

*
FAVORITE SINGABLES
Of the hundreds (maybe thousands) of choices, this list onPinterest displays the top blockbuster favorite Singable Picture Books that we warble together at Sing Books visits:
http://pinterest.com/singbooksemily/

*
SING ALONG RESOURCES AND PRINTABLE MATERIALS:
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/sing-along-resources-2/

**********************

PS:  A big THANKS!  to my pal Michael Miyazaki for bringing this book to my attention.

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

Archives

