Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

“Read, Sing, Play ABC Sing-Along,” A Singable Book, Letter O (tune of “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean”)

Posted on: June 11, 2010

O is for Octopus!

Sing the words of the song for the letter O to the tune of “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean.”


Read, Sing, Play ABC Sing-Along
Words Adapted by Teddy Slater
Illustrated by Liisa Chauncy Guida

An Octopus Swam in the Ocean
(Lyrics by Teddy Slater, from book “ABC Sing-Along,” sing to the tune of “The Old Gray Mare”)
An octopus swam in the ocean,
swam over the waves in the sea.
It raised its arms out of the water,
and waved eight times to me.
Oh, me! Oh, my!
There it goes, swimming by.
Oh, me! Oh, my!
That octopus just waved “bye-bye!”

The original lyrics, here:

My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean
Traditional Words and Tune
My Bonnie lies over the ocean
My Bonnie lies over the sea
My Bonnie lies over the ocean
Oh bring back my Bonnie to me

Bring back, bring back
Bring back my Bonnie to me, to me
Bring back, bring back
Bring back my Bonnie to me

The winds will blow over the ocean
The winds will blow over the sea
The winds will blow over the ocean
To bring back my Bonnie to me

Bring back, bring back
Bring back my Bonnie to me, to me
Bring back, bring back
Bring back my Bonnie to me

Bring back, bring back
Oh, bring back my Bonnie to me

This link features historical information about “My Bonnie Lie’s Over the Ocean,” plus a midi file to hear the tune and PDF sheet music!
http://www.flutetunes.com/tunes.php?id=5

Find “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” in the following books:


Let’s Sing Together
The Peter Yarrow Songbook
Illustrated by Terry Widener
(The lyrics and illustration for “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” are printed on p. 19, the printed music is found on p. 38.  The last pages of the book feature some historical information about each song.)


A Treasury of Children’s Songs: Forty Favorites to Sing and Play
Illustrated with Art from the Collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art in New York City
Music Arranged and Edited by Dan Fox
(“My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” is printed on page 60)

I read in more than one place that “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean” is one of the most parodied of songs.  You’ll fund a funny parody of “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean,” here:


Take Me Out of the Bathtub (and Other Silly Dilly Songs)
Traditional Tunes
Words Adapted by Alan Katz
Illustrated by David Catrow
(The parody “The Yogurt Flies Straight From My Brother,”  is printed and illustrated on page 3)

3 Responses to "“Read, Sing, Play ABC Sing-Along,” A Singable Book, Letter O (tune of “My Bonnie Lies Over the Ocean”)"

Please let me know where can I get the book?
Read Sing Play ABC Sing-Along by Teddy slater plus CD
Thank you!
Charmaine

hello! i got the book originally from one of those scholastic flyers that come home with the children from school.

i found it online at:
http://www.amazon.com/Abc-Sing-along-Teddy-Slater/dp/0439853575/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1288994304&sr=8-1

it’s a great book!

Thank you for the information.
Charmaine

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

