Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

THE NEW COLOSSUS: Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor, A Singable, Illustrated Poem

Posted on: June 7, 2010

In this scratch recording, Emily recites the poem and sings the words Emma Lazarus’s words for Lady Liberty, set to music by Irving Berlin:

**********************

*
new-colossus-song-sheet-w-music-sbwe
THE NEW COLOSSUS (song Give Me Your Tired Your Poor)
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin
Chords by ELEG for SBWE
To view or print this page, click here:
new-colossus-song-sheet-w-music-sbwe

*
Sing GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR with Emily, here:

*
give-me-your-tired-your-poor-sbwe-cover-only
GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR (sing along book 4 SBWE)
Excerpt from The New Colossus
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin
Chords by ELEG for SBWE
Cover Picture by Eloise Gleichenhaus (2010)

*
Sing GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR with Emily, here:

*
give-me-your-tired-your-poor-sbwe-w-chords
GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR (song sheet w chords 4 SBWE)
Excerpt from The New Colossus
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin
Chords by ELEG for SBWE
To view or print this page, click here:
give-me-your-tired-your-poor-sbwe-w-chords

*
Sing GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR with Emily, here:

*
give-me-your-tired-your-poor-sbwe-no-chords

GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR (song sheet NO chords 4 SBWE)
Excerpt from The New Colossus
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin
Chords by ELEG for SBWE
To view or print this page, click here:
give-me-your-tired-your-poor-sbwe-no-chords

**********************

Here are two picture books about the Statue of Liberty that include Emma Lazarus’ poem, THE NEW COLOSSUS:


Emma’s Poem (The Voice of the Statue of Liberty)
Book Written by Linda Glaser
Illustrated by Claire A. Nivola
This book features the poemThe New Colossus,” 
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Set to Music as “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor” by Irving Berlin

Emma’s Poem (Written by Linda Glaser, Illustrated by Claire A. Nivola) tells the story of how Emma Lazarus came to write the poem “The New Colossus” to help raise funds building the Statue of Liberty’s base and how her poem became the message the Statue of Liberty now stands for in the hearts and eyes of Americans and people around the world. This book features a photograph of Emma Lazarus’s penning of her poem and a one page biography of the poet.

*
Sing GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR with Emily, here:

**********************


Lady Liberty (A Biography)
Book Written by Doreen Rappaport
Illustrated by Matt Tavares
This book features the poem “The New Colossus,” 
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Set to Music as “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor” by Irving Berlin

Lady Liberty (A Biography) (Written by Doreen Rappaport, Illustrated by Matt Tavares) tells the story of how The Statue of Liberty came to be.  This book features two page spread biographies and gorgeous illustrations about the people who brought Lady Liberty to life.  The last pages contain statistical information about the statue and a timeline of important events.

Both books feature information about Emma Lazarus, her poem, the poem text (or an excerpt), and how the poem came to represent the voice of the Statue of Liberty.

I sat down to read “Emma’s Poem” (by Linda Glaser) today and discovered that Irving Berlin had set an excerpt (the most famous lines) of the poem to music.  A little more research revealed that Irving Berlin wrote the song “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor” for the musical, “Miss Liberty” in 1949.

**********************

Read an interesting wiki article about the creation of the musical “Miss Liberty,” here:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Miss_Liberty

See interesting documents related to the Statue of Liberty, including Irving Berlin’s handwritten “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor,” here:http://www.jewishvirtuallibrary.org/jsource/loc/statue.html

**********************

The excerpt of the poem that Mr. Berlin set to music is printed in both books:

Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor
Excerpt from
“The New Colossus”
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin

Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door.

**********************

The compete text of
The New Colossus
Poem by Emma Lazarus

Not like the brazen giant of Greek fame,
With conquering limbs astride from land to land;
Here at our sea-washed, sunset gates shall stand
A mighty woman with a torch, whose flame
Is the imprisoned lightning, and her name
Mother of Exiles. From her beacon-hand
Glows world-wide welcome; her mild eyes command
The air-bridged harbor that twin cities frame.
“Keep ancient lands, your storied pomp!” cries she
With silent lips. “Give me your tired, your poor,
Your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
The wretched refuse of your teeming shore.
Send these, the homeless, tempest-tost to me,
I lift my lamp beside the golden door!”

**********************


Emma Lazarus’s hand penning of “The New Colossus”
(Picture from the Library of Congress website, to American Jewish Historical Society, New York and Newton Centre, MA)

**********************
Articles about THE NEW COLOSSUS, by Emma Lazarus

*
An article from The Guardian, Jue 2012
https://www.theguardian.com/books/2012/jun/04/poem-week-new-colossus-emma-lazarus

**********************

Click here to see the “Catalogue of the Pedestal Fund art loan exhibition at the National Academy of Design : December, 1883,”
http://www.archive.org/details/catalogueofpedes00laza

Page 27 has information about other literary donations and prints Emma Lazarus’s poem, “The New Colossus,”

**********************

*

www.youtube.com/watch?v=aRN6kIY2A0o

**********************

I had the amazing and wonder-filled opportunity to live in New York City from August 1992 until April of 1999.  Those were wonderful years for me.  I NEVER lost my delight in the sights of the city, not the least of which were of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island in New York Harbor.  In the last half of my stay in New York, I revelled in my nightly walks home from my job in the Wall Street area of Manhattan.  I walked North, past the Brooklyn Bridge then up through Little Italy, finally past the Puck Building and then to my postage stamp sized apartment on 17th Street (between Irving and 3rd).  I’d run up the 4 flights of stairs to my apartment, change clothes, grab my roller blades, run down the stairs, buckle on the skates and roll WEST to the Hudson River.  A paved promenade lead all the way down the island’s Hudson River edge to Battery Park.  The river sparkled with the setting sun, the sky blazing in breathtaking hues of orange, purple and red.  And slowly, the Statue of Liberty would come into view.  I saw her standing there hundreds of times and she never failed to strike me with awe and joy.

I sure wish I had known this song.  I would have stood there every night and sung it for everyone…or no one, just me and Lady Liberty.

I’ll be singing it now, though, with the beautifully illustrated books, “Emma’s Poem” and “Lady Liberty.”

**********************

*
This is a nice karaoke track, repeating the poem’s excerpt 3 times in a singable key and with a thoughtful tempo:
http://www.amazon.com/Irving-Berlin-Karaoke-Version-Instrumental/dp/B003CPHFCG/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1275843617&sr=8-2

*
I like especially that this sing-along track repeats the song thrice, allowing kids to think about the song’s message and to quickly memorize and sing-along to create a shared experience.

*
Here’s a link to the karaoke track with teaching vocals, in case you need help matching the words to the tune:
http://www.amazon.com/Irving-Berlin-Karaoke-Version-Teaching/dp/B003CPBS1A/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=dmusic&qid=1275843617&sr=8-1

*
Find a terrific resource for information about the Statue of Liberty, here:
http://www.hudsonlights.com/liberty.htm

*
A wiki article about the poem “The New Colossus,” here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_New_Colossus

**********************

A few personal pictures of the Statue of Liberty from a Family Gleichenhaus trip to NYC in late August 2010:


I took this one through the window of the ferry.  She’s an amazing sight.


I took this picture from the foot of her pedistal.


My daughter Eloise and I with Lady Liberty.  My son Mo had no interest in being in a picture with me looking so silly!
I hummed “Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor” through the whole visit!

**********************
*

Eloise with Stature of Liberty, September 2011

Elosie made this picture soon after we returned from a family trip to NYC.  We took a photo of her with this same pose.  It’ll be a sweet addition to the post about Irving Berlin’s song “Give Me Your Tired Your Poor,” a musical setting of the Emma Lazarus poem, “The New Colossus,” which has been illustrated into a number of beautiful Singable Picture Books,
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/give-me-your-tired-your-poor-a-singable-poem-in-picture-books/

**********************
Addendum, 6/17/2014

Facebook post from the United States National Archives shares the deed of gift for the Statue of Liberty (given on July 4, 1884) which arrived in New York Harbor June 17, 1885.

National Archives Identifier: 595444

See the document and examine it with marvelous zoomed clarity, here:
http://research.archives.gov/description/595444

Deed of Gift of Statue of Liberty

**********************
Addendum, 2/22/2017

I’ve begun singing Irving Berlin’s setting of a section of Emma Lazarus’ poem THE NEW COLOSSUS with kids in their classrooms.

As I began singing it, though, I kept thinking that I should read them the whole poem (an Italian Sonnet, just a total of 14 lines) so that they know from what the little song comes.

It has worked very nicely to turn the whole thing into a piece.  It gives a chance to talk about the Statue of Liberty, the history which brought her to her pedestal in New York Harbor, and the story of the immigrants who came on boats, landing at Ellis Island, seeking a better life in the United States of America.

I made a book that includes the whole poem, with pictures, to share with the children.  Someone is usually available to volunteer and hold the book and turn pages, while I read the poem and then sing the last lines that make up the song:

new-colossus-song-sheet-w-music-sbwe
THE NEW COLOSSUS (song Give Me Your Tired Your Poor)
Poem by Emma Lazarus
Music by Irving Berlin
Chords by ELEG for SBWE
To view or print this page, click here:
new-colossus-song-sheet-w-music-sbwe

**********************
Addendum, 2/23/2017

Just a few days ago, my husband and I watched The DeliMan Movie, a documentary about Jewish delicatessens that used to be found on almost ever street in New York City and on many streets in many cities all over the USA.  Sadly, most have closed up shop, but a few remain.

The thing which relates to GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR is the extent to which these delis catered to immigrant populations new to America.  Later in the movie, somewhere at the beginning of the last quarter, the father of the DeliMan (Ziggy) talks about coming to America on the boat and seeing the Statue of Liberty and feeling her warm welcome and he knew this country would be his home. I was so touch by that, knowing Emma Lazarus’ poem that says, “From her beacon-hand glows worldwide welcome.”  I hope that we can continue to be such a beacon of hope to people all over the world who want to escape difficult circumstances to make wonderful new lives, with freedom and possibility, in the United States of America.  I think that is the ideal for which we should continue to stand.

http://www.delimanmovie.com/

**********************
Addendum, 3/14/2017

I’m still working to build my knowledge base for performing THE NEW COLOSSUS (Statue of Liberty poem by Emma Lazarus) and GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR (a portion of that poem set to music by Irving Berlin).

I just watched Ken Burns Statue of Liberty documentary. The poem is mentioned and recited, but I do wish there was something about Emma Lazarus and how/why she came to write the poem, and her thinking behind it, as the poem gives voice to Lady Liberty, and further sculpts the ideal and welcome for which she stands there in New York harbor. Truly, though, the subject of Emma Lazarus and her poem could be a documentary all its own.

There was much to be gleaned from the wonderful documentary. I wrote out some notes and a meaningful quote from her sculptor:

Notes on
Statue of Liberty
Documentary by Ken Burns

Having Liberty does not mean you get to hurt others, your liberty stops at the point where what you want to do crosses the line into someone else’s liberty or well being.

All HUMANS ARE created equal (I hold this truth to be self evident) and deserve life, liberty and pursuit of happiness, and the world has benefited mightily from the advancements created by the framework of ideas and laws set forth in the Declaration of Independence and later in the Constitution of the Untied States.

But we cannot let our celebration of the glories of these achievements ignore that some in society and its citizens (due to their lack of social and intellectual evolution) have not yet lived up to the ideal, resulting in the suppression and suffering of many and society losing out on the the gifts the suppressed could have shared if they (immigrants, minorities, women) weren’t forced to claw their way to just survive the indignities of the situation politically powerful bigots put them into.

On the other hand, this same lack of social and intellectual evolution has, to some extent, resulted in the undeserved/unearned elevation of others who do not reward the world properly for their privileges, but use their elevation in corrupt practices, failing their responsibilities to use their situation to do Good.

We cannot ignore this and must continue our work as citizens of the United States and as celebrants of the ideals it stands for to further achieve perfect realization of these ideals. We might not make it, but we must TRY!!

The fact that we have not yet achieved the ideal is a fault of people falling short and failing the mission, not of the ideas upon which this country was founded. Those ideals still stand up as the goals which we should all strive to attain.

Sculpture Bartholdi:
“Colossal statuary does not consist simply in making an enormous statue. It ought to produce an emotion in the breast of the spectator. Not because of its volume, but because its size is in keeping with the idea that it interprets. And with the place which it ought to occupy.”

American Tune, by Paul Simon

**********************
Addendum, 3/18/2017

This post constitutes the hemming and hawing of an artist.  The horrible self doubt, the second guessing.  The raw reality of the risks every artist takes when she performs,   emotionally flaying herself in public.  It’s a risk.  I’ll be honest that I’m not always up to the task.  Being an artist, living my life this way, doing the work, fulfills what I know are my deepest needs and desires.  I also feel a satisfaction in the genuine sense that I am fulfilling my mission.  I’m doing in life what I was sent here to do.  I don’t need to be famous.  I need to go to classroom and share this music with kids.  These are intimate performances, deeply engaging, profoundly important.  Sometimes, though, performing outside this context, engaging with others exhausts and damages me.  I’m just being honest.

I was contemplating bringing THE NEW COLOSSUS/GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR to an open mic sometime.  But the demons in my head went to work.  People will say my guitar sounds horrible.  People will see that I’m not a very good guitar player.  People will say my arrangement is not good.

Gee wiz.  Really?  The truth is, they WILL say these things, but maybe I should do it anyway.  I’ve begun bringing the poem/song to classrooms, a situation in which the importance and context of the words themselves clearly override any other concern.  Why, then, cannot this be so of an open mic?

Maybe this can be so.

One should not set up songs with equivocations, but I’m going to do it anyway, because sometimes life’s circumstances, and the opinions of others, puts one on the defensive and one (me) feels the need to guard against it, or to set expectations.

But I think artists also have missions and sometimes we can’t let circumstances stand in the way of making the art and doing the work.

I know that my guitar is not high quality and it does not make a high quality sound.  I know I am not a good guitar player.  I know that the chords I’ve assembled (as they are the ones within my skill set) to sing/play this song do not always make the most beautiful harmonies with the melody.

However, I use the guitar when other accompaniment is not available to me.  Though I’m not a good player, I’m good ENOUGH to suit the situations in which I usually need to accompany myself.  As Mary Poppins says, “Enough is as good as a feast.” For example, I often accompany myself on guitar to play/sing  rhymes and little songs with children in classrooms.  And, if I were not doing it, no one else would.

THE NEW COLOSSUS and Irving Berlin’s musical setting of the last section of it GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR, is important.  It is an important American Poem, written by a great American (Emma Lazarus) that gives voice to one of America’s most important icons, The Statue of Liberty.  The poem deserves recitation.  It deserves to be heard.  The song deserves to be sung.  The song deserves to be heard.  Especially NOW, TODAY, when many Great American Ideals are being subverted by greed, corruption and meanness.

As the great quote (attributed to many) says, “If not me, who?  If not now, when?”

In spite of the fact that the quality and sound of my guitar and my skill to play it leave something to be desired, I’ve decided to take a stand (as Lady Liberty defiantly and proudly stands) and sing and play it anyway.  I will do this because the poem needs fresh life in its repetition, the song needs to be voices so it can wing its way into hearts and minds, because the spark is within me to sing it, because I know the poem in my heart, because I desperately WANT to, and because it is important to convey the philosophy and ideals within it: sing it, I shall.

*
Martha Graham said,

There is a vitality, a life force, an energy, a quickening that is translated through you into action, and because there is only one of you in all of time, this expression is unique. And if you block it, it will never exist through any other medium and it will be lost. The world will not have it. It is not your business to determine how good it is nor how valuable nor how it compares with other expressions. It is your business to keep it yours clearly and directly, to keep the channel open. You do not even have to believe in yourself or your work. You have to keep yourself open and aware to the urges that motivate you. Keep the channel open. … No artist is pleased. [There is] no satisfaction whatever at any time. There is only a queer divine dissatisfaction, a blessed unrest that keeps us marching and makes us more alive than the others.

*
This poem is often attributed to Mother Theresa, but it seems that attribution is iffy.  I don’t care who said it.  The poem is correct.  Sometimes we just have to do something, regardless of what others will say and do.

People are often unreasonable, illogical and self centered;
Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives;
Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some false friends and some true enemies;
Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and frank, people may cheat you;
Be honest and frank anyway.

What you spend years building, someone could destroy overnight;
Build anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, they may be jealous;
Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, people will often forget tomorrow;
Do good anyway.

Give the world the best you have, and it may never be enough;
Give the world the best you’ve got anyway.

You see, in the final analysis, it is between you and your God;
It was never between you and them anyway.

**********************
Related Posts

*
GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR, AN ILLUSTRATED SONG
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/give-me-your-tired-your-poor-a-singable-poem-in-picture-books/

*
The New Colossus and Give Me Your Tired Your Poor, a song sheet for the poem and song
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2017/02/02/the-new-colossus-and-give-me-your-tired-your-poor-a-song-sheet-for-the-poem-and-song/

*
Guitar chords, a sing along sheet, a sing along book, and a scratch vocal for GIVE ME YOUR TIRED, YOUR POOR
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2017/01/29/guitar-chords-a-sing-along-sheet-a-sing-along-book-and-a-scratch-vocal-for-give-me-your-tired-your-poor/

*
AMERICAN HISTORY IN ILLUSTRATED SONG
A list of Patriotic Singable Picture Books
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/06/22/a-patriotic-list-of-singable-books-for-july-4th/

*
GREAT AMERICAN SONGBOOK

Singable Picture Books of the Great American Songbook and Michael Feinstein’s Foundation for the Preservation of the Great American Songbook
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/09/10/american-songbook-singable-picture-books-and-michael-feinsteins-foundation-for-the-preservation-of-the-great-american-songbook/

*
POETRY: SING BOOKS WITH EMILY SONGBOOK SERIES (SBWE SBS)
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2016/01/25/sing-books-with-emily-songbook-series-poetry/

*
POETRY SINGABLE POETRY IN COMPILATIONS
A List of Illustrated Compilations of Children’s Poetry with Singable Poems
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2011/04/17/singable-poetry-a-list-of-poems-that-can-be-sung-from-illustrated-compilations-of-poetry-and-singable-picture-books/

*
POETRY, SINGABLE POETRY IN INDIVIDUALLY ILLUSTRATED SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
A list of individually illustrated poems that have been set to music and can be sung
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/04/20/poems-individually-illustrated-spb/

*
A Beautiful 1884 Deed of Gift from France for the Statue of Liberty Further Illuminates Irving Berlin Song Based on Emma Lazarus Poem

*
Statue of Liberty Documentary by Ken Burns, much fodder for thought and knowledge base for singing GIVE ME YOUR TIRED YOUR POOR
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2017/03/14/statue-of-liberty-documentary-by-ken-burns-much-fodder-for-thought-and-knowledge-base-for-singing-give-me-your-tired-your-poor/

*
Something Martha Graham Said, and My Friend Jill
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/something-martha-graham-said-and-my-friend-jill/

*
Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor (from THE NEW COLOSSUS), A Singable Poem in a Picture Book
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/2010/06/07/give-me-your-tired-your-poor-a-singable-poem-in-picture-books/

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
This page has a list of Singable Picture Books Elsewhere Online
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

2 Responses to "THE NEW COLOSSUS: Give Me Your Tired, Your Poor, A Singable, Illustrated Poem"

I wanted to share my favorite picture book list with you from my blog at http://www.pragmaticmom.com/?page_id=1919

It’s Favorite Picture Books that You’ve Never Heard of.

Pragmatic Mom
Type A Parenting for the Modern World

http://PragmaticMom.com
I blog on children’s lit, education and parenting

What makes poetry so wonderful is the fact that it involves all of life, every concern, every desire, and every feeling. If something has some great significance to a person’s existence, then it has a great significance in poetry as well.

Leave a Reply

Calendar of SBWE Posts

June 2010
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Archives

