Sing Books with Emily, the Blog

Something Artists George Bellows Said…

Posted on: November 8, 2012

I love the museums of Washington, DC and feel a constant flow of grateful happiness to live so close to them.

The 2012 George Bellows exhibit at the National Gallery of Art is one reason why my joy in these places is so well founded.


Frankie, the Organ Boy (1907)
By George Bellows
Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art (Kansas City, MO)

Click here to visit the National Gallery’s information about the exhibit:
http://www.nga.gov/exhibitions/bellowsinfo.shtm

The exhibit exit wall was painted with this 1920 quote from George Bellows:

Try everything that can be done.  Be deliberate.  Be spontaneous.  Be thoughtful and painstaking.  Be abandoned and impulsive   Learn your own possibilities. 

I’ve embraced a creative life.  Sharing SingBooksWithEmily gatherings at schools and libraries (everywhere possible) and this blog are important creative outlets for me.  I want to learn, experience, create, and share all that I possibly can with Sing Books with Emily and song.

***********************

I found this book filled with new poetry and featuring artwork by George Bellows.  I don’t know if the poetry is singable…but maybe…if not now, soon.

*

Heart to Heart: New Poems Inspired by Twentieth-Century American Art
Edited by by Jan Greenberg

**********************
Relates Posts

*
INFO AND THINKING ABOUT SINGABLE PICTURE BOOKS
https://singbookswithemily.wordpress.com/resources-for-inspiration-and-information/

Leave a comment